top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRobert Blake

Week Two

Well done to those who entered Week One and sent their answers. There are currently 26 teams (out of 35) with 5 correct answers, but remember that your score is multiplied by your donation. Further down the line, I’ll post two leader boards: one with the raw scores and one with the scores times donations.

As it stands, this is what the Top 10 looks like: 1: The Travelling Willesburys; 2: Shaw to Shore; 3: Kenya Give Us a Clue; 4=: Fox Moth; Jejosa Selia- Cool Beanies!!; 6=: Marge's Marvels; Wood Folk; 8: The Intrepid Aldronians; 9=: Indefinitely Grounded; The Rambling Stoics; Woodton Wanderers


Week One’s answers: Nairobi; Uhuru; Nyayo; Elephant; Ngong (Hills)


So, here’s Week Two:


How appropriate that I find myself here on this much-celebrated day – in this country, anyway. Remembering a day when an anti-monarchy plot was foiled there will be many bonfires this evenings, complete with stuffed effigies of the chief plotter. And talking of stuffed effigies, I am tempted to take a short train journey to see a canine character who carries on his charitable work despite having been dead for over a hundred years. He is a fixture that not even “friendly bombs” can shift. But I digress. I am standing in the shadow of a castle that dates from the 11th century. Sadly, it is closed otherwise I could have visited and seen many splendid things, notably a Queen’s dolls’ house. However, I decide to take a Long Walk through autumn leaves towards a giant copper horse commissioned by one king for another, although the inscription patri optimo may have to be taken with a large pinch of metaphorical salt. Evening falls damply in these seasons of “mists and mellow fruitfulness” and it is becoming chilly so it’s high time for me to head back to the relative warmth of the Bubblecraft.


1 Where am I?


2 To which Plot am I referring?


3 What is the name of the dead dog?


4 Which two poets are quoted? (1 point each)


5 For whom was the dolls’ house made?


6 Who were the two kings? (1 point each)


Answer the questions and send your answers by email to me before 17:00 GMT on Wednesday November 11th at:

rtw2020kamili@gmail.com

The subject of the email should be your name and the number of the week.

The text of the email should contain your name and the answers.


For example:

You are sending the answers to Week Two and your team name is The Frequent Flyers.

Subject: Frequent Flyers Week 2

Text:

Frequent Flyers

1: Your answer

2: Your answer

et cetera ...

397 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Last Post

Dear Travellers, I must apologise for the lateness of this final post. Quite a lot has been going on outside the Bubblecraft! Anyway, I ended up in Thika. The last set of answers is as follows: Pineap

Week Nine

Week Nine The last leg of the journey! I will publish the final set of answers next week. Happy New Year! Welcome, the sign says, comparing the town to an industrial centre of England. I had landed ra

Week 8

Week Eight Apologies if I have not been quite as prompt with replies and answers. There has been a lot going on both in and out of the Bubblecraft! Here are some answers to the previous two weeks, whe

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page