top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRobert Blake

Week Three

Week Three

Well done, fellow travellers. Last week, I was in Xi’an. The answers to the other questions are: The Silk Road; 13.7 km or 8.5 miles (or about 2 hours!); The Terracotta Army; 1974; Qin Shi Huang; Mercury; Big Wild Goose.

I was quite lenient with No 3, as it was not a very well worded question. Must try harder!

We have quite a few teams entered and all have made generous donations to Kamili. THANK YOU! And you are well spread around the world. Welcome to those Kenya, the UK, the USA, Ghana, Belgium, Jordan, Ireland and The Philippines!

Lots of you have managed to get all the questions right so far, which is impressive. At the moment, the leading teams (in terms of scores multiplied by donations) are:

In first place, Shaw to Shore; tied for second, The Travelling Willesleys, The Flying Breadboards and The Lindfield Smiths; tied in fifth, The Rambling Stoics and The Wood Folk. But it’s early days yet!


Here’s Week Three …


It’s the middle of the night, which is fortunate as I seem to have landed in the middle of a town or city. I manage to hide the Bubblecraft and go for a wander to get my bearings. The signs are in a script that I can’t read – it’s all Greek to me! I’m in a square with shops and cafes, all closed at this time of day, and there is a fountain supported by four beasts. I take a moment to admire, then I spot a bus map. I see a name I recognise in a script that I can read and it’s not far, so I decide to walk. I find myself by a mighty palace, long since ruined but excavated by an enthusiastic, some would say over-enthusiastic, archaeologist. This was the home of a tyrant king who had a maze-like prison built for a terrible creature, half man, half bull. The builder of the prison had a son who was one of the earliest ever victims of a flying accident. Legend has it that the creature was killed by a prince, who escaped with the king’s daughter. The sun is rising as I head back to town. I stop off at the archaeological museum and admire a figurine of a priestess who is holding two creatures, one in each hand. Some say that she is not as she should be and that her head was glued in place by the above-mentioned archaeologist. Whatever. She is a stand-out figure in more ways than one. I sneak back to the Bubblecraft which whisks me away.


1. Where did I land?

2. Which beasts support the fountain?

3. What is the name of the palace?

4. Who was the tyrant king?

5. Who was the prince?

6. What was the name of the beast?

7. Who was killed in a flying accident?

8. What is the priestess holding in each hand?



72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Last Post

Dear Travellers, I must apologise for the lateness of this final post. Quite a lot has been going on outside the Bubblecraft! Anyway, I ended up in Thika. The last set of answers is as follows: Pineap

Week Nine

Week Nine The last leg of the journey! I will publish the final set of answers next week. Happy New Year! Welcome, the sign says, comparing the town to an industrial centre of England. I had landed ra

Week 8

Week Eight Apologies if I have not been quite as prompt with replies and answers. There has been a lot going on both in and out of the Bubblecraft! Here are some answers to the previous two weeks, whe

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page