top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRobert Blake

Week Six

Hello Everyone and welcome to Week Six! Mandalay was very interesting – shame I couldn’t spend more time there. Well done all of you who followed me there and well done in your research, as so many of you managed to get all six questions right.


The answers to Week 5 are: Mandalay; King Mindon; Rudyard Kipling; Kuthodaw; Lion; Nellie


We therefore still have a number of teams on Max Points. They are: Indefinitely Grounded, Wolverines, Kenya Give Us a Clue, The Travelling Willesburys, The Flying Breadboards, Wood Folk, The Intrepid Aldronians, Bertie's Sidekicks, Fox Moth, Rambling Stoics, Wandering Warthogs and The Glens Folk


We have also had a few more donations (Thank You!!), which has changed the Leader Board thus:

Still out in front in 1st place: Kenya Give Us a Clue; 2: The Travelling Willesburys; 3: Ras Kitoka; 4: The Intrepid Aldronians; 5: Shaw to Shore; 6: The Flying Breadboards; 7: The Barbecues; 8: Fox Moth; 9: Bertie's Sidekicks; 10: Rambling Stoics



Now, here’s Week Six …


I find myself in a capital city – the southernmost of its kind and also the remotest in terms of proximity to other capitals. As I am in a botanic garden, it does not feel like a city, but I stroll up the hill and find myself by a cable car or, to be precise, a funicular railway. I have a little time on my hands, so I take the next car down and am afforded a wonderful view across the city and the harbour, with an island that is home to the world’s smallest penguin. I leave the cable car and walk through the bustling city. I find myself in front of an imposing building that at first glance is built of stone, but is in fact one of the world’s largest wooden buildings. Close by is the seat of government and a building that suggests it produces honey – but more likely hot air. And a public playground – all parliaments should have a playground! I must dash as time is short and there is a chance of rain: I can see a long white cloud approaching! Is there time to visit a conservation trust and see the flightless nocturnal bird most closely associated with this country? Sadly not, but it’s always best to leave something behind for the next visit.


  1. Where am I?

  2. What is the original (i.e. not colonial) name of the island that I saw?

  3. What is the name of the penguin?

  4. What is the name of the wooden building?

  5. What is the name of the ‘honey-making’ building?

  6. What is the name of flightless bird?


Answer the questions and send your answers by email to me before 17:00 GMT on Wednesday December 9th at: rtw2020kamili@gmail.com


The subject of the email should be your name and the number of the week.

The text of the email should contain your name and the answers.

For example:

You are sending the answers to Week Six and your team name is The Frequent Flyers.

Subject: Frequent Flyers Week 6

Text:

Frequent Flyers

1: YOUR ANSWER

2: YOUR ANSWER

et cetera ...

240 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Last Post

Dear Travellers, I must apologise for the lateness of this final post. Quite a lot has been going on outside the Bubblecraft! Anyway, I ended up in Thika. The last set of answers is as follows: Pineap

Week Nine

Week Nine The last leg of the journey! I will publish the final set of answers next week. Happy New Year! Welcome, the sign says, comparing the town to an industrial centre of England. I had landed ra

Week 8

Week Eight Apologies if I have not been quite as prompt with replies and answers. There has been a lot going on both in and out of the Bubblecraft! Here are some answers to the previous two weeks, whe

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page