top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRobert Blake

Week Seven

Updated: Dec 12, 2020

So, well done thus far. Lots of you managed to answer correctly all of last week’s questions, which found me back in the Southern Hemisphere in New Zealand. (And a big “Kia Ora!” to all those Kiwis who are following me!).

The answers are: Wellington; Matiu; Little (Blue or Fairy) Penguin; Old Government Buildings; Beehive; Kiwi


The teams who are still on Maximum Points are: Bertie's Sidekicks; Fox Moth; Indefinitely Grounded; Kenya Give Us a Clue; The Flying Breadboards; The Glens Folk; The Intrepid Aldronians; The Travelling Willesburys; Wandering Warthogs; Wood Folk.

Please don’t forget to submit your answers to me before the deadline!


I know that some of you have experienced problems with the donations page on the For Africa site. They are on the case and will hopefully have this back up and running very soon. The Treasure Hunt does not finish until December 31st, so there is still plenty of time to donate and boost your team’s position.

This week, here are the Top Twenty Teams (Scores times donations). 1: Kenya Give Us a Clue; 2: The Travelling Willesburys; 3: Ras Kitoka; 4: The Intrepid Aldronians; 5: The Flying Breadboards; 6: The Barbecues; 7: Shaw to Shore; 8: Fox Moth; 9: Bertie's Sidekicks; 10: Jejosa Selita- Cool Beanies!!; 11: Marge's Marvels; 12: The Glens Folk; 13: Rambling Stoics; 14: Wood Folk; 15: Crying Rhys; 16: Laughing Stock; 17: Indefinitely Grounded; 18: Woodton Wanderers; 19: Mighty Mambas; 20: Wandering Warthogs


Well done and thank you for your support.


Here is Week Seven …


I step out of the Bubblecraft and start to take a stroll but am immediately short of breath as I am just under 12,000 ft (3,640m) above sea level. I find myself surrounded by weird and wonderful items for sale as I am in a very special sort of market. I can’t say that I am overly keen to buy any of the items on sale, not just because the Bubblecraft is cramped but also because I don’t have much use for a dried llama foetus. I pass a Basilica that takes its name from a saint who may have been less than impressed by the sale of dried animal parts, before finding one of the sights I most wished to see here. A clock that, as we are in the southern hemisphere, goes the wrong way – or the right way depending on how you look at it. I check the time and realise that I must move on. More cable cars! Marvellous! The city is renowned for its use of this most sensible form of transport in such a mountainous environment. I take in a panoramic view of the city from a Mirador which takes its name from the local name for a type of raptor. One almost feels that one is hovering, which would be apt. What a wonderful and unexpected place this, a country with two official flags, one a red, yellow and green tricolor and the other a much more handsome checkerboard. Sadly, I must move on.


  1. Where am I?

  2. What is the name of the market?

  3. Who was the saint?

  4. What is the name of the clock?

  5. What is the name of the raptor?

  6. What is the name of the chequered flag?


Answer the questions and send your answers by email to me before 17:00 GMT on Wednesday December 16th at:

rtw2020kamili@gmail.com

The subject of the email should be your name and the number of the week.

The text of the email should contain your name and the answers.

For example:

You are sending the answers to Week Seven and your team name is The Frequent Flyers.

Subject: Frequent Flyers Week 7

Text:

Frequent Flyers

1: Your answer

2: Your answer

et cetera ...


183 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Last Post

Dear Travellers, I must apologise for the lateness of this final post. Quite a lot has been going on outside the Bubblecraft! Anyway, I ended up in Thika. The last set of answers is as follows: Pineap

Week Nine

Week Nine The last leg of the journey! I will publish the final set of answers next week. Happy New Year! Welcome, the sign says, comparing the town to an industrial centre of England. I had landed ra

Week 8

Week Eight Apologies if I have not been quite as prompt with replies and answers. There has been a lot going on both in and out of the Bubblecraft! Here are some answers to the previous two weeks, whe

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page