top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRobert Blake

Week Nine

Week Nine


Yes – Boston (Massachusetts) as you all found out. Week 8’s answers are: Boston; Fenway Park; Ducks; Big Dig; Kennedy; Veritas. This week, there is a little more text and 7 questions, to help you digest the turkey, mince pies, sprouts etc. I do hope that you are all safe and sound, in Tiers, or Bubbles, or maybe with a few friends and family, cheering yourselves up with carols and presents and seasonal Bailey’s.


There are still six teams who are on Maximum Points. They are: Indefinitely Grounded; Kenya Give Us a Clue; The Flying Breadboards; The Glens Folk; The Intrepid Aldronians; Wood Folk


Here are the Top Twenty Teams as at today (scores times donations): 1: Kenya Give Us a Clue; 2: The Travelling Willesburys; 3: The Intrepid Aldronians; 4: Ras Kitoka; 5: Bertie's Sidekicks; 6: The Flying Breadboards; 7: The Barbecues; 8=: Fox Moth and Jejosa Selita- Cool Beanies!!; 10: Shaw to Shore; 11: Marge's Marvels; 12: The Glens Folk; 13: Rambling Stoics; 14: Crying Rhys; 15: Wood Folk; 16: Indefinitely Grounded; 17: Woodton Wanderers; 18: Laughing Stock; 19: Mighty Mambas; 20: Wandering Warthogs



Well done and thank you for your support.


Here is Week Nine …


Oh dear. Missed it. The 2 hours of daylight, that is. Not only is it very dark here it is also unbelievably cold. Swathed in as many clothes as I can find, I venture forth from the Bubblecraft and cross a significant line, just over 66 degrees north of the equator. I am now officially in the land of midnight sun, of near permanent night time, and of lights in the sky. Is it Dust, as Lyra Belacqua discovered in a famous trilogy of novels? No, the lights are caused by disturbances of particles, the effects of a solar wind. But why has the Bubblecraft brought me here? I check the date and it all becomes clear. Where else would I be on this special day? The whole town, imaginatively designed in the shape of a reindeer by a local architect, is dedicated to one man – or saint. Or, here, a Christmas Goat. Why he moved here from the relative warmth of Turkey I have no idea, but here he is, larger than life and twice as jolly. He is getting ready for his annual round the world journey. Maybe he can use the Bubblecraft? No – he prefers his traditional mode of reindeer-driven transport. I have almost “Finnished” my journey so I must also ‘dash away, dash away, dash away’, as the poet put it.


  1. Where am I?

  2. Which significant line did I cross?

  3. Who wrote the trilogy of novels?

  4. Who was the local architect?

  5. What is the local name for the Saint – the Christmas Goat?

  6. Which reindeer is named after a female vulpes vulpes?

  7. To which poet was I referring?



Answer the questions and send your answers by email to me before 17:00 GMT on Wednesday December 30th at:

rtw2020kamili@gmail.com

The subject of the email should be your name and the number of the week.

The text of the email should contain your name and the answers.

For example:

You are sending the answers to Week Nine and your team name is The Frequent Flyers.

Subject: Frequent Flyers Week 9

Text:

Frequent Flyers

1: Your answer

2: Your answer

et cetera ...


161 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Last Post

Dear Travellers, I must apologise for the lateness of this final post. Quite a lot has been going on outside the Bubblecraft! Anyway, I ended up in Thika. The last set of answers is as follows: Pineap

Week Nine

Week Nine The last leg of the journey! I will publish the final set of answers next week. Happy New Year! Welcome, the sign says, comparing the town to an industrial centre of England. I had landed ra

Week 8

Week Eight Apologies if I have not been quite as prompt with replies and answers. There has been a lot going on both in and out of the Bubblecraft! Here are some answers to the previous two weeks, whe

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page