top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRobert Blake

Week Five

Week Five

Last week proved to be a little more challenging and we now have 11 teams who have yet to drop a point. Well done! These team are: Bertie's Sidekicks, Fox Moth, Indefinitely Grounded, Kenya Give Us a Clue, Rambling Stoics, The Flying Breadboards, The Glens Folk, The Travelling Willesburys, Wandering Warthogs, Wolverines, and Wood Folk.


The answers to Week Four are: Kolkata; Himalayas (or a range that is part of them, I wasn’t too fussy!); Eden Gardens; East India Company; Hooghly; Sister Nivedita (Margaret Noble)


We have had some more donations, for which we are hugely grateful and this has changed the leader board in terms of overall placings (points times donations). Here it is.

1: Kenya Give Us a Clue; 2: Ras Kitoka; 3: The Travelling Willesburys; 4: The Intrepid Aldronians; 5: Shaw to Shore; 6: The Flying Breadboards; 7: The Barbecues; 8: Fox Moth; 9: Bertie's Sidekicks; 10: Jejosa Selita- Cool Beanies!!

Kenya Give Us A Clue are a very long way out in front but otherwise it’s fairly close. Welcome and a Big Thank You to Ras Kitoka for joining us on the journey.


Here is Week 5:


My Bubblecraft has landed safely and I am glad that I did not take ‘The Road To …’ here as that would have taken a much longer time. I need to be quiet as I am close to a palace within a citadel, founded on the wishes of the ruler of the day (in 1857) who transported much of it by elephant. Devastated by fires and bombing, much of what I can see is a modern reconstruction. Just one original wooden building remains – a monastery. The city takes its name from the hill at the foot of which it was built, in accordance with a prophesy. Many will know the name of the city thanks to a poem that became a song and then a hit for a crooner, but the poet’s daughter so disliked said crooner’s improvisation that she had his version of the song banned. This is also home to the World’s Largest Book, but I can’t turn any of the pages. I climb a spiral staircase and look across to a gilded building, formerly home to a throne named after an animal. And speaking of animals and elephants as I was, I am glad that I did not have to give a lift to one famous elephant who stopped in silver light on her way here. I am not sure that her trunk would have fitted in the Bubblecraft!


  1. In which city am I?

  2. What was the name of the founding ruler?

  3. Who was the poet?

  4. In which pagoda is the World’s Largest Book?

  5. Which animal gave its name to the throne?

  6. Who was the elephant?


Answer the questions and send your answers by email to me before 17:00 GMT on Wednesday December 2nd at:

rtw2020kamili@gmail.com

The subject of the email should be your name and the number of the week.

The text of the email should contain your name and the answers.

For example:

You are sending the answers to Week Five and your team name is The Frequent Flyers.

Subject: Frequent Flyers Week 5

Text:

Frequent Flyers

1: Your answer

2: Your answer

et cetera ...


228 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Last Post

Dear Travellers, I must apologise for the lateness of this final post. Quite a lot has been going on outside the Bubblecraft! Anyway, I ended up in Thika. The last set of answers is as follows: Pineap

Week Nine

Week Nine The last leg of the journey! I will publish the final set of answers next week. Happy New Year! Welcome, the sign says, comparing the town to an industrial centre of England. I had landed ra

Week 8

Week Eight Apologies if I have not been quite as prompt with replies and answers. There has been a lot going on both in and out of the Bubblecraft! Here are some answers to the previous two weeks, whe

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page